A Comprehensive Guide to Mask Mandates in Missouri

The coronavirus global pandemic has transformed the way we live our lives, making social distancing, working from home, and wearing a mask the norm.

According to the CDC, wearing a mask out in public can protect you and your community by preventing COVID-19 respiratory droplets from traveling into the air and infecting others – especially if you’re not fully vaccinated.

So what are the mask requirements in the state of Missouri? The answer depends on where you live. 

Missouri Governor Mike Parson has not issued a statewide mask mandate and left the decision to issue ordinances requiring face coverings up to local governments.

On May 13, 2021, the CDC drastically changed its guidelines, stating that fully vaccinated individuals can resume many indoor and outdoor activities without wearing a mask. The guidance led to most cities and counties to ease previous mask mandates.

Below is a comprehensive list of mask mandates across Missouri as of May 18, 2021.

Note that ordinances can be issued by either a city or county, so it’s best to check both. For example, St. Louis County’s ordinance applies to all 88 municipalities within the county.

This page will be updated as new information is made available

Missouri Mask Mandates by County

St. Louis County & St. Louis City

On May 14, 2021, St. Louis County Executive Dr. Sam Page and St. Louis City Mayor Tishaura Jones rescinded previous COVID orders, allowing fully vaccinated individuals to go maskless outdoors and in most indoor settings. Both leaders encourage individuals to respect business owners who still ask patrons to wear a mask, regardless of vaccination status. 

Jackson County

On May 14, 2021, Jackson County allowed its indoor mask mandate to expire, allowing fully vaccinated individuals to continue most activities without wearing a mask.

Boone County

Boone County expired its mask mandate on Wednesday, May 12, 2021 without renewal.

Clay County

On April 23, 2021, Clay County amended its ordinance to no longer require masks outdoors. On May 14, the eliminated its entire mask mandate.

Greene County/Springfield

Springfield City Council voted to end the citywide mask mandate effective May 27, 2021 at 11:59 p.m.

Platte County

On May 15, 2021, Platte County removed its mask mandate for individuals who are fully vaccinated.

The following counties also issued a mask mandate in 2020 and allowed them to expire in 2021:

  • Adair County
  • Andrew County
  • Cape County
  • Cooper County
  • Grundy County
  • Jefferson County
  • Johnson County
  • Lafayette County
  • Lincoln County
  • Livingston County
  • Morgan County

The following Missouri counties have not issued a countywide mask mandate. However, there may be local municipal ordinances within the county that could still require the wearing of a mask. Continue to check your local health department, and media outlets for the latest information:

  1. Atchison County
  2. Audrain County
  3. Barry County
  4. Barton County
  5. Bates County
  6. Benton County
  7. Bollinger County
  8. Buchanan County
  9. Butler County
  10. Caldwell County
  11. Callaway County
  12. Camden County
  13. Carroll County
  14. Carter County
  15. Cass County
  16. Cedar County
  17. Chariton County
  18. Christian County
  19. Clark County
  20. Clinton County
  21. Cole County
  22. Crawford County
  23. Dade County
  24. Dallas County
  25. Daviess County
  26. Dekalb County
  27. Dent County
  28. Douglas County
  29. Dunklin County
  30. Franklin County
  31. Gasconade County
  32. Gentry County
  33. Harrison County
  34. Henry County
  35. Hickory County
  36. Holt County
  37. Howard County
  38. Howell County
  39. Iron County
  40. Jasper County
  41. Knox County
  42. Laclede County
  43. Lawrence County
  44. Lewis County
  45. Linn County
  46. Macon County
  47. Madison County
  48. Maries County
  49. Marion County
  50. McDonald County
  51. Mercer County
  52. Miller County
  53. Mississippi County
  54. Moniteau County
  55. Monroe County
  56. Montgomery County
  57. New Madrid County
  58. Newton County
  59. Nodaway County
  60. Oregon County
  61. Osage County
  62. Pemiscot County
  63. Perry County
  64. Pettis County
  65. Phelps County
  66. Pike County
  67. Polk County
  68. Pulaski County
  69. Putnam County
  70. Ralls County
  71. Randolph County
  72. Ray County
  73. Reynolds County
  74. Ripley County
  75. St. Charles County
  76. St. Clair County
  77. St. Francois County
  78. Ste. Genevieve County
  79. Saline County
  80. Schuyler County
  81. Scotland County
  82. Scott County
  83. Shannon County
  84. Shelby County
  85. Stoddard County
  86. Stone County
  87. Sullivan County
  88. Taney County
  89. Texas County
  90. Vernon County
  91. Warren County
  92. Washington County
  93. Wayne County
  94. Webster County
  95. Worth County
  96. Wright County

Missouri Mask Mandates by City:


Columbia allowed its mask ordinance to expire on May 12, 2021.

Kansas City

Kansas City lifted its mask mandate on May 14, 2021, but encouraged individuals to respect businesses that still require patrons to wear masks.


Springfield City Council voted to end the citywide mask mandate effective May 27, 2021 at 11:59 p.m.

St. Louis City

St. Louis City lifted its mask ordinance on May 14, 2021.

As of May 18, 2021, the following cities lifted their mask mandates or allowed them to expire:

  • Branson
  • Clinton
  • Fulton
  • Joplin
  • Maryville
  • Marshfield
  • North Kansas City
  • Ozark
  • St. Joseph
  • Washington